Ahnay Adams Named New Hampshire Gatorade Player of the Year -

Ahnay Adams Named New Hampshire Gatorade Player of the Year

Adams becomes the second Gatorade Player of the Year in Girls Basketball program history

Following her standout sophomore season at Tilton, Gatorade today announced that Ahnay Adams is the 2021-22 New Hampshire Girls Basketball Player of the Year. Adams becomes the fifth student-athlete from Tilton School, and the second girls basketball player, to be named a Gatorade Player of the Year, joining Jackson Paradis ’22 (football), Olivia Orlando ’17 (girls basketball), Terance Mann ’15 (boys basketball), and Alex Oriahki ’09 (boys basketball).

Adams, a two time Lakes Region All-Star at guard, helped the Rams advance to the title game in the program’s first year at the NEPSAC Class AA level. The New Bedford, Mass. native poured in 24.1 points per game to go along with 7.0 assists, 6.2 rebounds, and 3.0 steals. Adams also earned MVP honors for her play during this year’s Blackburn Tournament, including a season-high 37 points vs. Proctor in the tournament championship.

“I am unbelievably proud of Ahnay, but not at all surprised. Her relentless work ethic and unwavering desire to get better has allowed her to succeed in all areas of her life,” says Head Coach and Tilton Director of Athletics Tara Brisson. “She has lived each day with the understanding that the best things are earned, not given, and she certainly put in the time and effort to earn this award!”

In a press release, Gatorade described the award as one “which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Adams as New Hampshire’s best high school girls basketball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year award to be announced in March, Adams joins an elite alumni association of state award-winners in 12 sports, including Skylar Diggins-Smith (2008-09, Washington High School, Ind.), Nneka Ogwumike (2007-08, CyFair High School, Texas), Maya Moore (2006-07, Collins Hill High School, Ga.), Candace Parker (2002-03 & 2003-04, Naperville Central High School, Ill.), and Lisa Leslie (1989-90, Morningside High School, Calif.).”

To learn more about the Gatorade Player of the Year program, visit their website: playeroftheyear.gatorade.com.